Kata Rokkar — Kata Rokkar – A Bay Area based blog about music, life and stuff by Shawn Robbins.Kata Rokkar — Kata Rokkar – A Bay Area based blog about music, life and stuff by Shawn Robbins.

Kata’s Weekend Showcase



Kata's Weekend Showcase, Music

All-around awesome band, mewithoutyou will be releasing their upcoming album it’s all crazy! it’s all false! it’s all a dream! it’s alright on May 19, 2009. From the looks of this video it seems like their taking a poppier approach while still holding that spoken word/prog-folk feel.

Track Listing:
1. every thought a Thought of You
2. the Fox, the Crow, and the Cookie
3. the Angel of Death came to David’s room
4. goodbye, I !
5. a Stick, a Carrot & String
6. bullet to Binary (pt. two)
7. Timothy hay
8. Fig with a Bellyache
9. Cattail Down
10. the King Beetle on a Coconut Estate
11. Allah, Allah, Allah

Pre-Order Album here.

Click to Download mewithoutyouThe Fox, The Crow And The Cookie

A megaload of amazing albums came out this week. First off, if you haven’t heard anything off of St. Vincent’s (Annie Clark’s) new album, Actor, yet…you’re missing out. The album is rich with cinematic pop epics and that undeniably charming nature Annie Clark is known for. Pick it up when you get the chance, it’s brilliant. Akron/Family’s Set ’em Wild, Set ’em Free came out this week and will get a proper review this week, so stay tuned. Cryptomnesia, the first release by El Grupo Nuevo De Omar Rodriguez Lopez, which is a new outfit differentiated from the guitarist’s other namesake projects by his selection of players, specifically Zach Hill (Hella) on drums, Jonathan Hischke (Hella) on synth bass, and Juan Alderete de la Pe¤a (The Mars Volta) on bass guitar and a guest appearance from frontman Cedric Bixler Zavala (The Mars Volta). I like this album more than some Mars Volta albums, which is a pretty good thing. Electro-freaks had a good week with Peaches releasing I Feel Cream and Fischerspooner with Entertainment. Post-metal giants Isis came out with Wavering Radiant this week. Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band released their first album credited to the group with Outer South.

Click to Download St. Vincent – Laughing With A Mouth Of Blood

(the above song is a likely candidate for Song of the Year)